INFINITE WORDLE

Continuing to Explore the Infinite

Math with limits without limits

R.L. Morgan
2 min readNov 8, 2023

--

Photo by Steve Johnson: https://www.pexels.com/photo/infinity-symbol-9999715/

Infinity is fun to think about. Infinite ideas, large numbers, and insults that continue without end. From an early age, we see this cool symbol and hear about infinity. “To infinity and beyond!” says Buzz Lightyear, and my older cousin pushed back any insult with “back at you times infinity!” For those of you who don’t remember the rules of pre-adolescent insults, having something turned back on you times infinity is hard to recover from.

I remember using INFINITY for something besides insults and abstract ideas during the later part of the year in Algebra II. We talked about mathematical definitions of infinity and of how we can use this concept in calculations. Particularly in calculations of things called LIMITs.

It not only opened a new world for me, it also gave me the opportunity to think about this abstract concept within the safe confines of my Algebra classroom. A lot of my classmates struggled with the calculation of limits and, in particular, with the mathematical concept of infinity. Our teacher was patient, let us think about it for a while, and also let us have some fun writing the infinity symbol.

Even though in my own teaching I try to connect the subject matter to real-world things as…

--

--

R.L. Morgan

Loves writing, loves teaching, and loves his 11-year-old daughter. All of which are potential topics of hopefully entertaining posts.